Upcoming Events


Thursday, 2/20/20 6pm - Intermediate Course (must be registered)

Wednesday, 2/26/20 7:30pm - Board Meeting

Saturday, 2/29/20 9am-4:30pm - Splits and Nucs Course (must be registered)

Tuesday, 3/10/20 7pm - General Meeting
Thursday, 3/12/20 6pm - Beginner Course (must be registered)

Saturday, 3/14/20 9am-11am - Hive Irradiation Drop-off
Thursday, 3/19/20 6pm - Intermediate Course (must be registered)

Wednesday, 3/25/20 7:30pm - Board Meeting

Tuesday, 4/7/20 7pm - General Meeting
Thursday, 4/9/20 6pm - Beginner Course (must be registered)
Thursday, 4/16/20 6pm - Intermediate Course (must be registered)





















For a healthy alternative, try cooking and baking with honey! There are many recipes and substitutions available to test out in your kitchen.

There is an endless list of references for beginner and advanced beekeepers. So the saying goes, ask 5 beekeepers a question and you'll get 7 answers. Here's a place to get you started.

- Marla Spivak  -

Every backyard beekeeper needs a place to start and a place to keep going. View our list of resources including books, supplies, videos, and more.

"I am fascinated by the interactions between bees.

I am fascinated by the interactions between beekeepers."

Sterilizing equipment is cheap health insurance when you are putting a new package of bees into a dead out hive or pre-owned equipment.  ALL hive components can be sterilized using gamma irradiation – boxes, frames, comb and honey.  That is certainly cheaper than the cost of new boxes, frames, and foundation plus the time, energy, and food resource bees need to build comb.

Get a wonderful head start on your beekeeping year--register for our 8-month Beginner Beekeeping course!

Have you taken our Beginner class in 2019? Then take the next step with our Intermediate Course!

Upcoming Meeting

March General Meeting

Tuesday, March 10  |  7:00pm  |  Forest Grove Presbyterian Church

"Bee Your Best Beekeeper" with Kelly Kulhanek, Ph.D Candidate UMD